Maine Senators Refuse to Sign on to attack on Clean Air Act | Conservation Law Foundation

Maine Senators Refuse to Sign on to attack on Clean Air Act

Seth Kaplan

The bad news: Alaska Senator Lisa Murkowski introduced a resolution designed to tamper with the science driven regulatory process of Greenhouse gas emissions by the U.S.E.P.A.

The good news: The two Republican Senators from Maine, Olympia Snowe and Susan Collins, courageously refused to follow their party line and did not sign on to the resolution.

“Maine should be proud to have two senators with the courage to do the right thing for Maine and the country when it comes to critical environmental issues,” said Sean Mahoney, director of the Conservation Law Foundation’s Maine Advocacy Center.  “Unlike Senator Gregg of New Hampshire and his Republican cohort of climate change deniers, Senator Snowe and Senator Collins withstood the pressure of party politics and did not join in this attack on the authority of the EPA to regulate carbon dioxide as an air pollutant. This country needs to address the harmful impacts of carbon dioxide emissions and, in the absence of new federal climate legislation, it is vital that the EPA retain that authority under the existing Clean Air Act.”

UPDATE: Sadly, when push came to shove on the Senate floor both Senators Snowe and Collins voted against science and climate protection and in favor of the Murkowski resolution.

Before you go… CLF is working every day to create real, systemic change for New England’s environment. And we can’t solve these big problems without people like you. Will you be a part of this movement by considering a contribution today? If everyone reading our blog gave just $10, we’d have enough money to fund our legal teams for the next year.

Focus Areas



About the CLF Blog

The views and opinions expressed on this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions or positions of Conservation Law Foundation, our boards, or our supporters.