Conservation Law Foundation Statement on New Route Proposed for Northern Pass Transmission Project

Jason Shemenski Jason Shemenski

Karen Wood, CLF, (617) 850-1722

CONCORD, NH  June 27, 2013 – In response to the announcement today by Northern Pass of a new route for the proposed massive transmission project, Conservation Law Foundation issued the following statement from Jonathan Peress, VP and director, Clean Energy and Climate Change:

“The measures announced today by PSNH to alleviate the myriad concerns about the current Northern Pass proposal amount to putting a band-aid on a gaping wound,” said Jonathan Peress, VP and director, Clean Energy and Climate Change for Conservation Law Foundation (CLF). “The new route has the same flaws that have doomed its progress to date, primarily the lack of consideration for the communities that would unnecessarily bear all of the burden of the project and none of the benefit, which would instead flow to PSNH’s shareholders.”

Peress continued, “The modest changes that Northern Pass has proposed add insult to injury. What we are dealing with here is quite clearly a poorly conceived attempt by Gary Long to rescue PSNH’s failing business model, which relies on charging New Hampshire residents and businesses inordinately high rates to prop up its dirty, old, inefficient coal-fired power plants.”

“Today’s announcement continues a pattern of adversarial tactics like gaming the federal permitting process, attacking land conservation stakeholders, and dishonest marketing of the project’s economic and environmental benefits, without any guarantees that any of the supposed economic or environmental benefits will ever materialize.”

Conservation Law Foundation (CLF) protects New England’s environment for the benefit of all people. Using the law, science and the market, CLF creates solutions that preserve natural resources, build healthy communities, and sustain a vibrant economy region-wide. Founded in1966, CLF is a nonprofit, member-supported organization with offices in Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.