



Office of the President Bradley M. Campbell 62 Summer Street Boston, MA 02110 P: 617.350.0990 F: 617.350.4030 www.clf.org

July 23, 2018

The Honorable Karen E. Spilka, Chair Senate Committee on Ways and Means Massachusetts State House 24 Beacon St, Room 212 Boston, MA 02133

The Honorable Jeffrey Sánchez, Chair House Committee on Ways and Means Massachusetts State House 24 Beacon St., Room 243 Boston, MA 02133 The Honorable Joan B. Lovely, Vice Chair Senate Committee on Ways and Means Massachusetts State House 24 Beacon St, Room 212 Boston, MA 02133

The Honorable Stephen Kulik, Vice Chair House Committee on Ways and Means Massachusetts State House 24 Beacon St., Room 243 Boston, MA 02133

Subject: S.426/H.2913, an Act relative to environmental justice and toxics reduction in the Commonwealth

Dear Chairman Spilka, Chairman Sanchez, Vice-Chair Lovely, and Vice-Chair Kulik,

On behalf of the Conservation Law Foundation (CLF) and the undersigned organizations, we write in support of S.426/H.2913, an Act relative to environmental justice and toxics reduction in the Commonwealth (the Environmental Justice Bill).

Article 97 of the Massachusetts Constitution guarantees all people a right to a healthy and sustainable environment. For generations, that constitutional promise has been merely a suggestion for communities of color, low income and immigrant and refugee communities. Years of data collection and organizing demonstrate that communities of color, in particular, bear the majority of environmental harms and receive significantly fewer environmental benefits—leading to negative health outcomes and financial risk.

Civil rights law is grounded in the notion that we explicitly protect those who need protection. Otherwise, the burden remains on the most vulnerable to fight for their lives with the fewest resources. Effective environmental justice law must acknowledge existing discriminatory structures and provide the tools needed to dismantle them. The Environmental Justice Bill does just that, creating enforceable protections that reflect the reality of disparities in equal access to health, environmental protection, and democratic governance.

Twenty-four states have passed at least one environmental justice statute. Massachusetts has an executive order and policies that go ignored. Why are we behind the curve?

Every other United States state or territory with an environmental justice bill or policy explicitly references protected classes. We cannot let Massachusetts be the first and only state in the U.S. to define environmental justice without reference to race, national origin, language access, and income. To do so, strips away explicit protections for our most vulnerable communities.

Massachusetts needs a bill that empowers communities to advocate for themselves. An environmental justice bill that removes reference to protected classes takes power away from those communities and allows government agencies to hand pick who qualifies for protection and who does not.

The 190th General Court is poised to act on clean energy and climate mitigation, adaptation, and resiliency. We ask for your leadership to take correspondingly strong steps to leave behind our legacies of inequity as we work to enhance the health, safety, and security of the Commonwealth.

Sincerely,

Bradley M. Campbell President Conservation Law Foundation

Richard Juang Staff Attorney Alternatives for Community & Environment (ACE)

Michaelann Bewsee Executive Director Arise for Social Justice

Jane Winn
Executive Director
Berkshire Environmental Action Team

Boston Climate Action Network Board

Diane Turco Director Cape Downwinders

Cynthia Luppi New England Director Clean Water Action

Adele Franks Steering Committee Climate Action Now, Western Mass

Coalition for Social Justice

Grady McGonagill Founder & Leader Elders Climate Action Massachusetts

Elizabeth Turnbull Henry President Environmental League of Massachusetts

Nisha Swinton Northeast Senior Organizer Food & Water Watch

María Belén Power Associate Executive Director GreenRoots

Heather McMann Executive Director Groundwork Lawrence

Iván Espinoza-Madrigal Executive Director The Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights and Economic Justice

Mary Ann Ashton, President League of Women Voters of Massachusetts Nicole Morris-McLaughlin Program Manager Southcoast Energy Challenge Marion Institute

Carol Oldham Executive Director Massachusetts Climate Action Network

Kathryn R. Eiseman Director Massachusetts PipeLine Awareness Network

Maddie Ribble Director of Public Policy & Campaign Strategy Massachusetts Public Health Association

Mary Gilbert Founder Massachusetts Quaker Legislative Network

Deb Pasternak Chair, Executive Committee MA Sierra Club

Anne Goodwin Leadership Team Coordinator Mothers Out Front Massachusetts

Andrea Nyamekye Climate Justice Program Director Neighbor to Neighbor Massachusetts

No Canton Gas Pipeline: Toward an Equitable, Sustainable Future

Rosemary Wessel Program Director No Fracked Gas in Mass

Bri McAlevey President No Sharon Gas Pipeline | Clean Energy Now James Michel Co-Founder Resist the Pipeline

Salem Alliance for the Environment

South Coast Neighbors United

Cathy Kristofferson Co-founder StopNED

Claire Miller Lead Organizer and Climate Justice Director Toxics Action Center

Chris Dempsey Director Transportation for Massachusetts

Laura Wagner Executive Director Unitarian Universalist Mass Action

350 Central MA

Craig S. Altemose Senior Advisor 350 Mass

Cc: The Honorable Sonia Chang-Diaz

The Honorable Sal N. DiDomenico

The Honorable Michael J. Barrett

The Honorable William N. Brownsberger

The Honorable James B. Eldridge

The Honorable Patricia D. Jehlen

The Honorable John F. Keenan

The Honorable Michael O. Moore

The Honorable Kathleen O'Connor Ives

The Honorable Michael F. Rush

The Honorable James T. Welch

The Honorable Adam G. Hinds

The Honorable Viriato M. deMacedo

The Honorable Richard J. Ross

The Honorable Donald F. Humason, Jr.

The Honorable Elizabeth A. Malia

The Honorable Thomas P. Walsh

The Honorable Robert M. Koczera

The Honorable Thomas M. Stanley

The Honorable Sean Garballey

The Honorable James Arciero

The Honorable Brian M. Ashe

The Honorable Tricia Farley-Bouvier

The Honorable Russell E. Holmes

The Honorable Josh S. Cutler

The Honorable Mary S. Keefe

The Honorable David M. Rogers

The Honorable Alan Silvia

The Honorable Daniel Cullinane

The Honorable Carole A. Fiola

The Honorable Daniel J. Hunt

The Honorable RoseLee Vincent

The Honorable Evandro C. Carvalho

The Honorable Carmine L. Gentile

The Honorable Carlos González

The Honorable Joseph W. McGonagle, Jr.

The Honorable Rady Mom

The Honorable Paul Tucker

The Honorable Adrian Madaro

The Honorable Gerard Cassidy

The Honorable Todd M. Smola

The Honorable Angelo L. D'Emilia

The Honorable Donald R. Berthiaume, Jr.

The Honorable Nicholas A. Boldyga

The Honorable Kate D. Campanale

The Honorable Shawn Dooley

The Honorable Timothy R. Whelan

The Honorable Donald H. Wong